“Roar” vs “Brave”

I recently found out (and yes I already know I’m late to the party) but I recently found out that people have been saying that Katy Perry’s “Roar” was basically a rip off of Sara Bareilles’s “Brave.”   I listened to both songs just now and I don’t see (hear) the similarities whatsoever.

First of all, as I mentioned in my previous post (Roar!) there’s something hypnotic about Katy Perry’s song.  It puts you in a trance when you hear it and forces you to repeat until you either black out or your ears bleed or a combination of both.

That doesn’t happen when I listen to “Brave.”  Not even close.

That’s not to say that Sara B.’s song is suckier.  It’s not.  I mean it’s OK.  It’s not great but it’s a cool little song.  Actually, I’m a huge Sara B. fan so basically she can do no wrong.  Her music speaks to me on a deeper level than most artists out there.  In fact, “Stay” and “Undertow” are two of my favorite songs ever.  I’ve even done an accapella cover of “Undertow” that’s how crazy I am about the song.  Sara’s songs are well written, she has a beautiful voice and her songs don’t get stuck in your head…they get stuck in your heart.

Cheesy?  Well, like I said I’m a fan.

Katy’s songs, however, are definitely pop and they’re made to get stuck in your head.  20 years from now I don’t see people recalling any Katy Perry songs in the way they recall The Beatles or Etta James.  Katy (much like Beyonce) are POP pure and simple.  Not really deep but, you know, good for now.

Too harsh?  This is just one woman’s opinion.

That being said, I honestly don’t see the similarity between “Brave” and “Roar.”  They’re both uplifting, upbeat songs and they both have one word titles.  Neither song is all that great but they’re OK enough to nod your head to.

I lean more toward listening to Katy Perry’s “Roar” for two reasons:

1) I like the lyrics better!

2) The song puts you under a spell!!!!

The thing that really makes “Brave” kind of sucky is the music video.  Oh my gawd what an awful music video!!!!  (Was that even the official music video?  I’m not even sure, I’ll have to go back and check but OH MY GAWD did I hate the video I actually saw.)  I hated the song 100x more than I probably would have had I not seen that really awful music video.

What were they thinking?

I’m hoping the “Roar” music video will be better.  (To make up for the spell/trance thing)

If you haven’t heard “Brave” check out this awful music video now:

Leave a Reply

