Week One (10K Training)

Technically I’ve completed 1 1/2 weeks of training for this upcoming 10K.  I started last Wednesday instead of Monday and decided to repeat the first week’s training schedule instead of moving on to week 2.

Now I’m on track – going to the gym everyday except today, which is again, REST DAY.  Oh I am loving rest day.  First of all, it’s an earned day of rest.  I worked my butt off this week.  Running 2-3 miles at the gym or around the reservoir and doing strength training.  Don’t even get me started on the ab workouts and no sweets or alcohol….oh I am a champion right now.

I’ve even lost 2 lbs.  My goal is to lose 20lbs by the time the 10K comes around so I guess 18 more lbs to go.   Even though it would be amazing to lose those 20lbs I’m really more focused on toning up and training so that I can complete the 10K.

Last night it took every bit of energy to run 3 miles within 40 minutes.  So for now that’s the time to beat.  And next week (week 2) I guess I’ll have to start running 3.5-4 miles according to the training schedule.

So things are about to get a little tougher.

But I can handle it.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

