London: Fitting In

The menu was written in chalk on a large board as we entered the cafe. The sun was brilliant.  The park was packed with other people all eager to brunch with friends and loved ones.

IMG_3382

We were having brunch by the lake in Victoria Park and I couldn’t decide between the Banana pancakes with creme brioche and the Pavillion, which was the traditional English breakfast.

Always open to trying new things especially where food is concerned, I didn’t shy away from the English breakfast because of the beans or the random mushroom.  I’d never had beans for breakfast and mushrooms didn’t usually look like they’d just been plucked from the Earth and placed on my plate when I ate them.  But again, I was willing to give it a try.  Plus, the dish came with bacon.  And sausage.  I’m always up for bacon and sausage – especially sausage.  I love sausage.  So despite the beans and the mushroom, the traditional English breakfast was quite tempting.

However I was also drawn to the banana pancakes.  I love pancakes.  I don’t normally have banana with my pancakes but I love pancakes.  So I had to make a tough decision.  Or a compromise.  I realized I could have the pancakes with sausage.  That’s what I would normally have in America so it seemed simple enough to me.  I asked Andrea if he’d be willing to part with his sausage so that I could have the best of both worlds – Andrea was not willing to part with his sausage.  But when it was time to order he did ask if it was possible to order an extra sausage with the pancakes.

There was a bit of a pause after this inquiry.  The server kind of blinked at Andrea and said, “Sausage?  With the pancakes?”

Andrea nodded and the server blinked again.  But before we could all start to feel too awkward he shook it off and said, “Whatever you want mate.”  And proceeded to ring up our order.

Hilarious.

It never occurs to me that the things that seem perfectly normal to me coming from Los Angeles are actually quite strange to people in the UK.  I think it’s because when I go to London (or any place that’s not home) I’m immediately open to the new experiences I’m bound to have.  Nothing seems strange to me – it’s just new.  So I figure it’s the same way on the other side of the coin.

Nope.

I got quite a few comments about my sausage with pancake meal from my brunch mates.  I suppose that if/when I do move here I may have to abandon that food pairing if I want to fit in.  Ah but it’s a small price to pay to be part of a city as amazing and surprising as London.

IMG_3385

So far I made my first Primark purchase.
image

Everything in Primark is considered cheap.  I guess Primark would be the Target or Walmart of the States.  Last year I visited a Primark but ran away immediately because it was way too crowded and I wasn’t in the right state of mind to actually do any shopping.  But this time I was with Andrea, which helped keep me calm and the few items that I purchased seemed to jump out at me from the racks.  It was a fairly simple shopping expedition.  And cheap…which is great considering my budget.

I’ve also been to Abbey Road.

IMG_3431

IMG_3432

Oh my goodness what an adventure.  I’ll have a video of this posted on my Youtube Channel.  Do check it out when you can.  www.Youtube.com/DawnMelissaVlogs

I went to a super posh and hard-to-get-into club called Sketch.

Normally I avoid places like these like the plague – I’m just not a fan of high priced mediocre drinks and snooty attitudes.  But when you know someone who knows someone (in my case I knew someone who knew someone who knew someone…who knew someone) who could get you access…you don’t pass up the chance.  Sketch was awesome!  High priced drinks and all.  The best part was the bathrooms, which weren’t really rooms so much as sectioned off areas where there were individual, egg-shaped stalls.  Crazy.  I tried to get a picture but it didn’t work out.  Ah well.

This week I plan to visit some museums again.  I went to see an exhibit at the Barbican Centre called ‘Monument’.
Then I was at the Tate Modern for a bit- I’ll have to go back soon because Andrea’s roommate, Matteo, talked to me about a Rothko painting and it was so intriguing I decided I needed to go back.

And if possible I’d also like to do a campus visit.  Now I’m off to meet a fellow Youtuber in person for the first time.  So exciting.  Wish me luck!

By the way, the weather here has been amazing.  I can’t believe I actually walked around all day yesterday without a jacket.

Leave a Reply

