London: Clotted Cream and Scone

I had afternoon tea at Hotel Russell last year and it was the most magnificent experience

When you have afternoon tea you get all sorts of treats.  Scones.  Cucumber sandwiches.  Little cakes like the ones I remember seeing in movies like Anne of Green Gables and Pride and Prejudice.  And of course- clotted cream.  Clotted is the best tasting creamiest cream I have ever tasted.  I just about salivated all over the table when I first tried it.

I think I’ve been chasing that clotted cream experience ever since.

I’ve had tea at two different cafes now and neither have given me the same mouthgasm I first had.  Which is disappointing.  I may have to go back to the Russell Hotel for afternoon tea if I want the same satisfaction.

For now I have to settle for this semi ok clotted cream from the cafe in the Victoria and Albert museum in South Kensington. 

image

Don’t roll your eyes but I seriously want to live in South Kensington one day….

I think the V&A is my favorite museum.  I looked at The Glamour of Italian Fashion1945-2014 exhibit then stopped for coffee in the cafe where, upon realizing I’d forgotten to get a spoon, I used a knife to stir in the brown sugar.  My faux pas did not go unnoticed.  Ah well.  Still I enjoyed my scone and addressed postcards to all you lovelies who helped me get to London.  I also listened in on the lively discussion the two older English women sitting next to me were having the about the fashion exhibit we’d just seen.  Then I finished up my snack and went back to wandering.

All the while secretly wishing there were more hours in a day. 

Here are some pics from V&A and around South Kensington.  Enjoy!

image

image

I want that for my wedding day….

image

Miniatures!

image

Disappointed lover…

image

My wedding dress…. Just kidding…. No really….

image

image

There’s my wedding dress….. Lol….

image

Love love love!

image

Roarin’ 20s….

image

image

image

Somehow Andrea’s fingers got in the shot. 

image

There we go Piccadilly Circus….

image

Then of course a quick stop at Kaffeine London before going home for dinner and preparing for a night of Ping Pong.

I Love You, London.

Leave a Reply

