Daily Prompt: The Crickets That Follow

Tell us about a time when someone had you completely fooled, where the wool was pulled right over your eyes and you got hoodwinked, but good. Was it a humorous experience or one you’d rather forget? What was the outcome?

In college, a boy I cared for stared lovingly into my eyes as he danced with me and told me he had feelings for me and that we should be together.

When I later shared the news with a friend she gave me a strange look and told me this boy had said something very different to her.  Something along the lines of he just wanted to be friends with me and that I was crazy.  For years after, whenever we would joke about that embarrassing moment, he would tell me I simply, “misunderstood.”

A similar situation happened not long ago.

History literally repeated itself as I sat with a group of people I’d hoped to soon call my friends- tipsily sharing the “how we met and fell in love” story only to realize too late that they were all exchanging uncomfortable looks and doing their best to avoid eye contact with me.  I later found out that my “how we met and fell in love” story overlapped with some other girl’s timeline.

The humiliating part wasn’t being two-timed.

It was the awkward silence that followed my mushy, flowery and apparently one-sided story.  You could hear a pin drop, it was that quiet.  People are supposed to go, “Awwww so sweet!” when you tell a story like that.

You aren’t supposed to hear crickets.

Ah well.

Such is life.

Daily Prompt

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Crickets That Follow

Leave a Reply

