Post Workout Sweat (And Tears)

wpid-img_20140521_123354.jpgI’m slowly getting back into working out regularly and eating right.  My ongoing weight-loss journey continues…

I know I’m always starting my weight-loss blog entries with “I’m getting back into this.”  It’s a bummer that I keep letting myself down when I fall off the wagon but at least I do get back on that horse and I try again, right?  (I know I’m combining different analogies here but you get what I’m saying) 

I did four Cassey Ho Blogilates videos in lieu of running at the gym.  I worked on my abs, legs, arms & back and butt (tee hee) and it hurt the entire time.

A funny thing happens when you’re pushing yourself through a tough workout.  Your thoughts start to wander, you sweat profusely and, if you’re a sensitive little thing like me, you may start to cry.

To be clear, when I say “cry” I don’t mean break down into hysterical tears in the middle of my workout like a crazy person.  I mean, cry like in that way you do when you’re pushing through something and no matter what you’re going to get through it.  Like childbirth.  Or a hotdog eating contest.  Or life, in general.  I wasn’t in tremendous pain – I could definitely feel the burn but it wasn’t anything I couldn’t handle physically.  I just needed to cry my way through it a little bit.  And you know what?  I got through the damn workout.

Oh it’s such a simple metaphor for life.  I may have some tough, tear-filled nights that I’ll have to continue to sweat through but come hell or high water I will get through them.  (Yay! Breakthrough!)

(In my defense, I really must say that Cassey Ho’s workouts are ridiculously hard so I’m sure a lot of people have cried through them.  Confess your tears in the comments below!)

Cheers,

Leave a Reply

