Just Checking In

thatformerskgjpg2Some of you may know I started a new personal growth blog called That Former Sidekick Girl.

Please check it out – as I’ve been spending a great deal of time working on it and, as a result, I’ve kind of been neglecting this blog.

I’ll try to be better about that since I do intend to continue to use this blog for my upcoming travel adventures and my continuing weight loss journey.

In the meantime, I’ve still been regularly uploading videos to Dawn Melissa Vlogs on Youtube. I even recently got together with some of the old gang (actors and friends I’ve worked with in the past) and created a funny video to be released soon. Please subscribe to my channel so you don’t miss it!

I’m on this fast and fierce Leading Lady kick these days. I’ve talked about it a lot on That Former Sidekick Girl and also on my Youtube Channel.

I want to be a leading lady. I want to see more Women of Color play leading lady roles in films and on TV. And since it’s become painfully obvious that that’s not going to simply happen – I’m taking matters into my own hands.

I’m making myself a Leading Lady.

I was inspired by Anna Akana and spurred by the onslaught of new movies coming out – most of them lacking in diversity – to simply stop supporting movies that offer no representation of me and to start supporting projects featuring Black women in a positive light.

So far – I’ve had to cut down on watching a lot of movies I would’ve gladly paid to see. Fortunately, Gone Girl isn’t one of them because ironically enough Tyler Perry making an appearance makes me feel OK about paying to watch this movie. Plus…I really really loved the book.

But as for the other new releases that have no diversity…not wasting my money. Please check out this blog post where I explain the decision to not watch all-White movies anymore a bit further.

In other news, I’m working out again. Actually, I’m finally using my Barry’s Bootcamp classes. I had 10 classes just sitting in an account for three years. Last year I finally used one of them. And that was it.  In September I felt like I should use them before leaving LA.  So I went back 4 more times.  Now that the countdown is officially on – I have less than two weeks to use up the remaining 5 classes. I know for some people that’s a cakewalk but for me – it’s a challenge. Barry’s Bootcamp is HARD! But at least I’ve got the sexy instructors for eye candy and that helps motivate me to keep running.

What else is new – Oh! My hair is growing. I couldn’t be happier. Maybe I should finally get around to doing an official length check. Hmmmm…

That’s all for now. Don’t forget to check out That Former Sidekick Girl.

Follow me on Bloglovin.com/DawnMelissa and add me on Google+

I’ll stay on top of both of these blogs – promise!

Have a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

